We are a group of 4 manipulators

  • passionate about object manipulation
  • passionate about kinetic art
  • passionate about mechanisms of all kinds and the ways to represent them in performing arts
  • passionate about hip-hop inspired dance styles: both mechanical (popping, robot, tutting…) and more organic (windstyle, waving, liquid…)
  • très très très

    Piryokopi is now creating très très très, a four-man graphic manipulation show using a wide array of geometrical objects (balls, cigar boxes, batons, buugengs, hoops, etc). It mixes object manipulation with “graphic” hip hop dance, both of which share a common visual language. The show will also, through touches of self-deprication, question a human’s tendency towards obsession and fixation.

    The objects are moved and manipulated in space to trace ephemeral drawings, trajectories, dynamics and mecanisms. The public is presented with an impactful visual language which the characters use to communicate moods and atmospheres.

    on stage

    The four characters live for their objects and their movement. Their social relationship is determined by the degree of their obsession, causing phases of extreme individual meticulousness or shared graphical elation. The objects resonate with the body’s movements, be they dancing or static, flexible or rigid, and with each person’s personality and touch of madness.

    Object manipulation is a form of communication between the characters, but also a way to escape and isolate oneself. The public is invited to dive into an aesthetically expressive and poetic ambiance, meticulously constructed by four object manipulators whose passion brings them dangerously close to obsession.

    Graphic Manipulation

    Graphism is the art of drawing shapes and pictures within the framework of a shared language. Graphic manipulation is the ‘drawing’ of patterns in space by the body and the object. The object (malleable or otherwise) can take many different forms depending on how it stands in relation to the body. This body becomes an extension of the object, and vice versa, giving it shape, mass and a dynamic that influences its movements and motions. Here, I use the term “body-object” to describe this fusion between the artist (body) and the object.

    The movements of the body-object build shapes and paths. These visual circuits are traced in the three dimensions of the stage and in time. Here, we see analogies with “la jonglerie cubique”. In the middle of the 90s, so-called “cubic juggling” aimed to integrate the juggler and his objects into the three dimensions of the stage. This approach to juggling and manipulation exploits the space around the artist using the specific physical characteristics and dynamics of the body-object.

    Graphic manipulation takes the ideas behind cubic juggling a step further. Each gesture is designed to emphasize and offer meaning to the movements traced in space. The intention of the artist behind the ‘drawing’ lays the foundation for communicating with the viewer and is a pre-requisite to the graphic element of manipulation. This intention is expressed via the lines and shapes that the body-object writes in space. Like all writing, this line must be readable for the audience. If it is ‘calculated’ by the transmitter-artist and ‘interpreted’ by the receiver-audience, then there is genuine communication between them.

    meet the team next

Dossier de présentation (pdf)

*

Nous sommes un noyau de 4 manipulateurs

  • passionnés par la manipulation d’objets
  • passionnés d’art cinétique
  • passionnés par les mécanismes de toute sorte et les moyens de les représenter dans les arts vivants
  • passionnés par différents styles de danse hip-hop, très mécaniques (popping, robot, tutting,…), ou plus organiques, fluides (windstyle, wave, liquid…)
  • très très très

    Le collectif Piryokopi crée très très très, un spectacle de manipulation graphique à quatre corps, huit mains et bien plus d’objets géométriques (balles, bâtons, bûguens, boîtes à cigares, cerceaux, etc.). Il mêle manipulation graphique d’objets et danse hip hop (ou plus spécifiquement « danse graphique »), toutes deux considérées comme utilisant un même langage visuel. Les objets manipulés sont tous épurés, ils sont déplacés, manipulés dans l’espace pour créer des dessins éphémères, des tableaux furtifs, des trajectoires, des dynamiques et des mécanismes.

    Il est proposé aux spectateurs un vocabulaire visuel impactant, permettant aux personnages de communiquer tout en créant des tableaux picturaux, des ambiances fortes et des logiques à découvrir. Au delà de ce langage, le Projet Piryokopi questionne le rapport de l’humain à sa folie, du jongleur à son objet, du manipulateur à son obsession et le tourne en dérision à travers la légère psychose des personnages.

    sur scène

    Les quatre personnages qui ne vivent que pour leurs objets et leurs mouvements, confrontent ou associent leurs lubies de manipulation. L’objet et sa manipulation est un vecteur de communication entre les personnages mais aussi le refuge dans lequel chacun se retranche. Leurs différents degrés d’obsession régissent leur relation qui varie entre phases de méticulosités extrêmes individuelles et phases d’euphories graphiques communes.

    La Manipulation Graphique

    Graphique : qui représente par des lignes, des figures sur une surface […] procédé d’impression artistique […] représentation d’un phénomène ou d’une réalité quelconque à l’aide de dessins, d’images.

    – Le Petit Robert

    Le graphisme est l’art de dessiner des formes et images dans le cadre d’une écriture. La manipulation graphique dessine dans l’espace avec le corps et l’objet. L’objet (déformable ou non) peut prendre une multitude de formes différentes selon la manière dont il est tenu par le corps ; ce dernier prolonge l’objet et lui donne une forme, un poids, une dynamique qui influencent ses mouvements. On parlera donc d’objet-corps.

    Les trajectoires des mouvements de l’objet-corps construisent des formes ou des parcours. Ces parcours visuels, dans les trois dimensions de la scène et dans le temps, véhiculent des significations. On retrouve là beaucoup d’analogies avec la jonglerie cubique. En effet, au milieu des années 90, cette dernière a affirmé intégrer le jongleur et ses objets dans les trois dimensions de la scène. En quelque sorte, le jonglage cubique met en avant l’espace autour de l’objet-corps en utilisant les particularités et propriétés physiques ainsi que les dynamiques qu’offre cet objet-corps.

    La manipulation (intégrée à la jonglerie) graphique, elle, va plus loin : elle dessine l’espace et y laisse de façon volontaire et réfléchie une trace significative. L’accent est mis sur cette trace visuelle, intentionnelle. L’intention du dessin est le pré-requis du graphisme dans la manipulation. Cette intention est fondée sur un tracé. Comme toute écriture, ce tracé doit être lisible pour le public. S’il est « calculé » par l’émetteur-artiste et « interprété » par le récepteur-public, alors il y a bien une communication.

    voir l’équipe next